E-Visa Travel to Eastern Russia

Golden Horn bridge, Vladivostok

Russia has passed a law authorizing issuance of electronic visas for tourists and other visitors traveling to the country’s Far East. Single business, tourist and humanitarian electronic visas with an authorized period of stay of up to 8 days will be issued without a consular fee to foreign citizens coming to Russia via border crossings in Vladivostok’s “free port” area. Visas will be valid for 30 days. Interested applicants will be able to apply online via the website of Russia’s Ministry of International Affairs. E-visa applications will be processed in 4 days.

Foreigners will be able to visit any of five Far Eastern regions where the free port regime is in place – Primorsky and Khabarovsk Territories, Sakhalin Region, Chukotka and Kamchatka. Travelers with e-visas will be permitted to travel freely within these regions. Foreign citizens with electronic visas must depart Russia via the border crossings in the Vladivostok free port territory.

Further details on how to apply for e-visas are expected in the near future.


https://themoscowtimes.com/articles/6-places-you-need-to-visit-with-russias-free-far-east-e-visa-57378; http://www.dfo.gov.ru/press/news_DV/1094/ (in Russian)


Leave a Comment